Writing 101: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

 

092

 

 

My Dear old friend Fear,

Thank you for taking such good care of me all these years. Without you I could never have made it through my early years before the critical thinking portion of my brain was completely developed. You have made me a good driver, a cautious mother and kept me out of dark alleys late at night. Remember those nights long ago when you were solely responsible for keeping the dark thoughts from winning? Truly, without you I would no longer be on this earth and I have nothing but gratitude for your interventions.

But now perhaps it’s time to take a step back from our relationship. You taught me well how to take care of myself and those around me. Now it’s time to set me free, time to permit me to act a bit more rash, you know eat desert first and all that stuff.

There are fewer days ahead of me then behind me, these are the halcyon days of my life. Before you know it I will be too old to run through fields and play in the sand. Perhaps I’ll be too infirm to savor the more physical aspects of life and much as I try not to, there is still worry about that time. That is for another time, later, much later.

So for now I kiss you on both cheeks and bid you adieu,

Love,

kc

 

One thought on “Writing 101: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

Leave a Reply

