Favorite Mistake Is there a mistake you’ve made that turned out to be a blessing — or otherwise changed your life for the better? Tell us all about it.

 

222

 

A confession: I am dyslexic, not bad, it does not affect my life in an overly negative manner, but it makes being a calligrapher more challenging.

This quote should have started “Hold fast to dreams”, but my brain said “let’s put the A first. Being one of those people who can finally celebrate their warts and flaws I posted the error on an art board and the most amazing thing happened. Someone on the board commented, “So, make a new quote using the error as your jumping off point”.

Rainbows appeared and butterflies sang!

Never had it occurred to me in all the years of spoiled pieces that I could fix it, change it, make it okay. Suddenly the irritation of my dyslexia was lessened exponentially. Now it is a game to play, one that is down right fun and it takes so much pressure off of me. That one random post on an art board created a space in my studio that is more forgiving and as a result more creative.

A most fortuitous mistake indeed, thank you Kate for the change in trajectory.

 

Leave a Reply

